Good Morning everyone. Ish, good morningish. I mean I definitely was up until 4 am tweaking this blog thing, and it's definitely after one PM now. It was way more morning before I went to bed last night, you know, than it is now. Oh well.
Totally besides the point.
Like I said, I'm going to update this more regularly, about recent commings and goings and pancake eating and everything.
So, here is my first attempt.
Yesterday was Friday (yes, here too.) And I only have one class on Fridays, the only class that isn't called a class, it's called a "practicum"; which only makes me think of sophomore year of high school when there was a really cute practicum student teacher (the ones who didn't teach, just chilled out and took notes...or, more commonly to my paying attention, nothing at all) that I would pass coming in and out of Mr. Jones class. This is nothing like that.
We are in a classroom for our practicum: there's a white board with markers and everything (sometimes my teacher even uses it) and a podium, and classroomy things. I think this is one of the biggest reasons it feels like a class. For my "classes" we are just in the church "sactuary" I guess is what it would be called. And there are way more of us in my normal M-W class. About 200 or more people. I digress.
The Practicum is really interesting though, mostly, because it's more intellectual stuff--history and so on. I like history a lot, I like doctrine and specifics, I like to learn about things that I'm immersed in, the back story and everything. Actually yesterday, we were talking about the cannon, and translations and stuff (the Bible) and thanks to Dr. Gartig's class last year (that I failed...besides the point,) I knew everything he was talking about! And I found that class fascinating, just really really hard.
Anyway, in that class we are talking about doctrine, and how you can't love something that you don't know anything about, and why studying doctrine is so important. And man, my heart, man.
After class I made an executive decision to not go to EGS (I'm not supposed to make decisions like that) but I just wanted out of FSM for a little while. Three hours of class everyday, four-five hours prayer room everyday... I'm just getting used to things, but I'm getting a little tired. I'm getting better, but it's a hard adjustment. It's so much sitting, sitting and waiting. Which is great! It is. It's just haaaarrrd.
I'm a wimp.
So instead of church, Jane and I went to IHOP! I mean! The Pancake kind!!
We didn't go to the IHOP that so many people are totally cool with going to in Grandview, because like I said, Grandview is the scariest. We went to Leawood, KS--which is pretty much like if all the retail in Florence married the wealth of Union and was a really spiffy suberb (one of the richest in the country) in KS. Everything there makes Grandview even scarier, with it's lack of scariness (making up some of it in pretention, but not at like...IHOP.)
There was a cute waiter, only he had a pony tail. It was weird. I could see him, Jane could not. Though, she really wanted to. Ha--I win.
Then we meander (?) around the rest of the street. Macy's, mallish stores, and Barnes and Noble. I read a lot of Michael Ian Black's book of essays. I especially loves "David Sedaris can suck it!" Why? Because I love David Sedaris and I love Michael Ian Black.
Eventually we ended up back at my house. Hung out.
And, honestly. I've lost my train of thought.
Anyhow, I'm trying to update everyday, and I've already failed.
On with tomorrow.
UP UP AND AWAY.
(Am I going to change the date so this looked like I wrote it at the right time? you bet your bottom dollar I might.)
Peace.
-hannah
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment